coka cola containing alcohol

This post has 1,566 views.




Majlisul Ulema site has a booklet about coka cola containing alcohol (ethenol) . I have been tryng to do research on this and basically what everyone is saying is the flavoring used is alcohol based (90+%) and final coke product has .01%  some Ulema ( and some self studied people) are saying that this small percentage is not a problem and coke is permissable. Majlis is saying that no matter how little, its not allowed. Respected Muftis, what is your view on the Majlis standpoint and bottom line, is consumption of softdrinks with .01% alcohol (ethenol) halal or haraam?




In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhwa-barakātuh.

As you have indicated, there is a difference of opinion amongst the learned Ulama with regards to the permissibility of consuming products containing a small quantity of ethanol (which is sourced from other than grapes and dates). This difference has resulted in uncertainty and doubt.


The golden rule that should be exercised at the time of doubt is “When in doubt stay without”. This is derived from the following Hadith of Rasulullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wa Sallam:

On the authority of Al-Hasan bin Ali Radiyallahu Anhu, the grandson of the Messenger of Allah Ta’aala Sallallahu Alayhi Wa Sallam, who said: I memorized from the Messenger of Allah Sallallahu Alayhi Wa Sallam his saying:

“Leave that which makes you doubt for that which does not make you doubt.”
[Tirmithi and Nasaee]


In another hadith we learn that the one who abstains from that which is doubtful will protect his religion and honour. The hadith is as follows:

On the authority of Al-Numan bin Basheer Radiyallahu Anhu, who said : I heared the messenger of Allah Sallallahu Alayhi Wa Sallam say :
“That which is lawful is plain and that which is unlawful is plain and between the two of them are doubtful matters about which not many people know. Thus he who avoids doubtful matters clears himself in regard to his religion and his honor, but he who falls into doubtful matters falls into that which is unlawful, like the shepherd who pastures around a sanctuary, all but grazing therein. Truly every king has a sanctuary, and truly Allah’s sanctuary is His prohibitions. Truly in the body there is a piece of flesh which, if it
is in order, all the body is whole and which, if it be diseased, all of it is diseased. Truly it is the heart.”
[Bukhari and Muslim]


We learn from the hadith that the body that is sustained by Haraam will never enter Jannah (until and unless it is cleansed of the haraam by burning in the fire of hell). [Tabarani] Likewise duas of those who consume haraam are not accepted:

On the authority of Abu Hurairah Radiyallahu Anhu, who said : the messenger of Allah Sallallahu Alayhi Wa Sallam said :
“Allah the Almighty is pure and accepts only that which is pure. Allah has commanded the faithful to do that which he commanded the messengers, and the Almighty has said: “O ye messengers ! Eat of the good things and do right”. And Allah the Almighty has said : “O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you”.
Then he mentioned [the case of] a man who, having journeyed far, is dishevelled and dusty and who spreads out his hands to the sky [saying] : “O Lord! O Lord!” – while his food is unlawful, his drink unlawful, his clothing unlawful, and he is nourished unlawfully, so how can he be answered !”


Keeping the above in mind, we advise abstention from all those things which you have a doubt in.


And Allah knows best


Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In’aamiyyah



  • The Sharée ruling herein given is specifically based on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • The DarulIfta bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer. The DarulIfta being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of the DarulIfta.