Kosher restaurant

This post has 327 views.

Question:

Can a muslim open a kosher restaurant where only kosher products are served?

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-Salāmu ‘Alaykum Wa-Rahmatullāhi Wa-Barakātuh.

In principle, the slaughter of Ahl al-Kitāb is permissible for Muslims to eat and sell. Allah ﷻ has said:

ﵟ‌وَطَعَامُ ٱلَّذِينَ أُوتُواْ ٱلۡكِتَٰبَ حِلّٞ لَّكُمۡﵞ [المائدة: 5]

“And the food of the people of the Book is permissible for you.” (Sūrah Mā’idah, Verse 5)

However, this is not general permission. The permissibility of eating their slaughter is subject to certain conditions that must be fulfilled:

1.     The slaughterer must hold the proper beliefs of the Jews/Christians, i.e., what is found in their Divine Books, and not merely be Jew/Christian by name.[1]

2.     The slaughterer must take the name of Allah/God for every slaughter.[2]

3.     The slaughterer must cut the appropriate passageways/veins.[3]

According to our understanding of modern-day Kosher practices, the aforementioned conditions are not fulfilled, particularly the second.[4] Therefore, it will not be permissible to open a Kosher restaurant that sells Kosher meat.

As for other Kosher products, they are not necessarily Halāl as they may still contain some Harām ingredients such as alcohol or animal-based ingredients.[5] Accordingly, it will only be permissible to sell those Kosher products that do not contain any Harām ingredients.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best.

Adil Sadique

Student – Darul Iftaa
New York, USA

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Muhammad Zakariyya Desai.


[1] «البحر الرائق شرح كنز الدقائق لابن نجيم (ت 970ه) ومنحة الخالق وتكملة الطوري، دار الكتاب الإسلامي» (3/ 110):

«وفي التبيين ثم كل من يعتقد دينا سماويا وله كتاب منزل كصحف إبراهيم وشيث وزبور داود فهو من أهل الكتاب فتجوز مناكحتهم وأكل ذبائحهم خلافا للشافعي فيما عدا اليهود والنصارى، والحجة عليه ما تلونا وفي فتح القدير الكتابي من يؤمن بنبي ويقر بكتاب…وحاصله أن المذهب الإطلاق لما ذكره شمس الأئمة في المبسوط من أن ذبيحة النصراني حلال مطلقا سواء قال بثالث ثلاثة أو لا لإطلاق الكتاب هنا»

 «حاشية ابن عابدين (ت 1252ه) = رد المحتار ط الحلبي» (6/ -297296):

«(وشرط كون الذابح مسلما حلالا خارج الحرم إن كان صيدا)…(أو كتابيا ذميا أو حربيا) إلا إذا سمع منه عند الذبح ذكر المسيح (فتحل ذبيحتهما)

—-

(قوله ذميا أو حربيا)…وفي الحامدية: وهل يشترط في اليهودي أن يكون إسرائيليا وفي النصراني أن لا يعتقد أن المسيح إله؟ مقتضى إطلاق الهداية وغيرها عدمه، وبه أفتى الجد في الإسرائيلي، وشرط في المستصفى لحل مناكحتهم عدم اعتقاد النصراني ذلك. وفي المبسوط: ويجب أن لا يأكلوا ذبائح أهل الكتاب إن اعتقدوا أن المسيح إله وأن عزيرا إله، ولا يتزوجوا بنسائهم، لكن في مبسوط شمس الأئمة: وتحل ذبيحة النصارى مطلقا سواء قال ثالث ثلاثة أو لا، ومقتضى الدلائل الجواز كما ذكره التمرتاشي في فتاواه، والأولى أن لا يأكل ذبيحتهم ولا يتزوج منهم إلا للضرورة كما حققه الكمال بن الهمام اهـ. وفي المعراج أن اشتراط ما ذكر في النصارى مخالف لعامة الروايات»

معارف القرآن، إدارة المعارف (3/ 48-49):

اب رہا یہ معاملہ کہ یہود و نصاری کو اہل کتاب کہنے اور سمجھنے کے لئے کیا یہ شرط ہے کہ وہ صحیح طور پر اصلی تورات و انجیل پر عمل رکھتے ہوں۔ یا محرف تورات اور انجیل اتباع کرنے والے اور عیسی و مریم علیہما السلام کو خدا کا شریک قرار دینے والے بھی اہل کتاب میں داخل ہیں۔ سو قرآن کریم کی بے شمار تصریحات سے واضح ہے کہ اہل کتاب ہونے کے لئے صرف اتنی بات کافی ہے کہ وہ کسی آسمانی کتاب کے قائل ہوں اور اسکی اتباع کرنے کے دعویدار ہوں۔ خواہ وہ اس کے اتباع میں کتنی گمراہیوں میں جاپڑے ہوں۔

قرآن کریم نے جن کو اہل کتاب کا لقب دیا۔ انھیں کے بارے میں یہ بھی جابجا ارشاد فرمایا کہ یہ لوگ اپنی آسمانی کتابوں میں تحریف کرتے ہیں۔ يحرفون الكلم عن مواضعه۔ اور بھی فرمایا کہ یہود نے حضرت عزیر علیہ السلام کو خدا کا بیٹا قرار دے دیا اور نصاری نے حضرت عیسی علیہ السلام کو وقالت اليهود عزیر ابن الله وقالت النصرى المسيح ابن الله ان حالات وصفات کے باوجود جب قرآن نے انکو اہل کتاب قرار دیا تو معلوم ہوا کہ یہود و نصاری جب تک یہودیت و نصرانیت کو بالکل نہ چھوڑ دیں وہ اہل کتاب میں داخل ہیں۔ خواہ وہ کتنے ہی عقائد فاسدہ اور اعمال میں مبتلا ہوں۔…

صرف نام کے یہودی و نصرانی جو درحقیقت دہریے ہیں وہ اس میں داخل نہیں۔

آجکل یورپ کے عیسائی اور یہودیوں میں ایک بہت بڑی تعداد  ایسے لوگوں کی بھی ہے جو اپنی مردم شماری کے اعتبار سے یہودی  يا نصرانى کہلاتے ہیں مگر درحقیقت وہ خدا کے وجود اور کسی مذہب ہی کے قائل نہیں۔ نہ تورات و انجیل کو خدا کی کتاب مانتے ہیں اور نہ موسی و عیسی علیہما السلام کو اللہ کا نبی و پیغمبر تسلیم کرتے ہیں۔ یہ ظاہر ہے کہ وہ شخص مردم شماری کے نام کی وجہ سے اہل کتاب كے حکم میں داخل نہیں ہو سکتے۔…

خلاصہ یہ ہے کہ جن نصرانیوں کے متعلق یہ بات یقینی طور پر معلوم ہو جاۓ کہ وہ خدا کے وجود ہی کو نہیں مانتے یا حضرت موسی و عیسی علیہما السلام کو اللہ کا نبی نہیں مانتے۔ وہ اہل کتاب کے حکم میں نہیں۔

فتاوى محمودیہ، مکتبہ محمودیہ (26/ -187186):

یہودی اگر حضرت موسی عليه السلام کو پیغمبر اور تورات کو آسانی کتاب مانتے ہیں، اور جانور ذبح کرتے وقت اللہ کا نام لے کر ذبح کرتے ہیں کسی اور کا نام لے کر مثلاً حضرت عزیر عليه السلام کا نام لے کر ذبح نہیں کرتے ہیں، تو اس میں شرعاً گنجائش ہے۔

تنبيه: آج کل کثرت تو ایسے لوگوں کی ہے، جو صرف قومی حیثیت سے یہودی ہیں نہ وہ تورات کو خدا کی کتاب تسلیم کرتے ہیں، نہ پیغمبر پر ایمان رکھتے نہ مذہب کے قائل ہیں، نہ خدا کو مانتے ہیں، بلکہ دہریئے ہیں۔ فقط واللہ سبحانہ تعالی اعلم

[2] «أحكام القرآن للجصاص (ت 370ه) ط العلمية» (2/ 406):

«فقال أبو حنيفة وأبو يوسف ومحمد وزفر: من كان يهوديا أو نصرانيا من العرب والعجم فذبيحته مذكاة إذا سمى الله عليها»

«بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع للكاسني (ت 587ه)، دار الكتب العلمية» (5/ 46):

«ثم إنما تؤكل ذبيحة الكتابي إذا لم يشهد ذبحه ولم يسمع منه شيء أو سمع وشهد منه تسمية الله تعالى وحده؛ لأنه إذا لم يسمع منه شيئا يحمل على أنه قد سمى الله تبارك وتعالى وجرد التسمية تحسينا للظن به كما بالمسلم»

Although the above text says to have حسن الظن that they recited Tasmiyah, this is inapplicable in our present context since we have certainty (يقين) that they are not reciting it.

Legal Rulings on Slaughtered Animals by Mufti Taqi Usmani (Pg. 60):

“Kasani says, “The animal slaughtered by the people of the book will only become lawful if we do not personally witness the slaughter and do not hear the slaughterer recite anything, or if we are physically present at the time of slaughter and we hear him reciting only the name of Allah. This is because we will assume that he only recited the name of Allah and did not recite anything else in the situation where we did not hear him recite anything, thinking good of him, as is the case with a Muslim.”

In the footnote: “This will be the case when the people of the book normally recite the name of Allah at the time of slaughter. However, we will consider the meat to be unlawful when they do not normally recite the name of Allah.”

معارف القرآن، إدارة المعارف (3/ 52-53، 58):

اس کا حاصل یہ ہوا کہ ذبیحہ کے متعلق تمام قرآنی آیات جو سورۂ بقر اور سورۂ انعام میں آئی ہیں، جن میں غیر اللہ کے نام پر ذبح کئی ہوئے جانور کو بھی اور اس جانور کو بھی جس پر اللہ کا نام نہیں لیا گیا، حرام قرار دیا ہے۔ یہ سب آیتیں اپنی جگہ پر محکم اور معمول بہا ہیں۔ سورۂ مائدہ کی آیت جس میں طعام اہل کتاب کو حلال قرار دیا ہے، وہ بھی ان آیات کے حکم سے مختلف نہیں کیونکہ طعام اہل کتاب کو حلال قرار دینے کی وجہ ہی یہ ہے کہ ان کے موجودہ مذہب میں بھی غیر اللہ کے نام پر ذبح کیا ہوا جانور، اور وہ جانور جس پر اللہ کا نام نہیں لیا گیا حرام ہے۔…ہاں یہ ہو سکتا ہے کہ بعض جاہل عوام اپنے مذہب کے اس حکم کے خلاف کچھ عمل کرتے ہوں، جیسا کہ خود مسلمانوں کے جاہل عوام میں بھی بہت سی جاہلانہ رسمیں شامل ہوگئی ہیں مگر ان کو مذہب اسلام نہیں کہا جاسکتا۔

اور دوسری غلطی اس سے بڑی یہ ہوئی کہ طعام اہل کتاب کے مفہوم میں اہل کتاب کے ہر کھانے کو بلا کسی شرط کے حلال کر دیا۔ خواہ وہ جانور کو ذبح کریں یا نہ کریں۔ اور اس پر اللہ کا نام لیں یا نہ لیں۔ ہر حال میں وہ جانور کو جس طرح کھاتے ہیں اس کو مسلمانوں کے لئے حلال کر دیا۔ جس وقت ان کا یہ فتوی مصر میں شائع ہوا اس وقت خود مصر کے اور دنیا کے تمام اکابر علماء نے اس کو غلط قرار دیا۔ اس پر بہت سے مقالے اور رسالے لکھے گئے۔

[3] «بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع للكاساني (ت 587ه)، دار الكتب العلمية» (5/ -4140):

«وأما بيان شرط حل الأكل في الحيوان المأكول فشرط حل الأكل في الحيوان المأكول البري هو الذكاة فلا يحل أكله بدونها…والذبح هو فري الأوداج ومحله ما بين اللبة واللحيين… ثم الأوداج أربعة: الحلقوم، والمريء، والعرقان اللذان بينهما الحلقوم والمريء»

«الدر المختار شرح تنوير الأبصار وجامع البحار للحصكفي (ت 1088ه)، دار الكتب العلمية» (ص 640):

«(و) ذكاة (الاختيار ذبح بين الحلق واللبة) بالفتح: المنحر من الصدر (وعروقه الحلقوم) كله وسطه أو أعلاه أو أسفله، وهو مجرى النفس على الصحيح (والمرئ) هو مجرى الطعام والشراب (والودجان) مجرى الدم (وحل) المذبوح (بقطع أي ثلاث منها)»

Legal Rulings on Slaughtered Animals by Mufti Taqi Usmani (Pg. 48-49):

“Are the same conditions which need to be fulfilled for the slaughter of Muslims to be valid – such as cutting the vessels, using a sharp instrument, and reciting the name of Allah – also applicable to the slaughter of the people of the book?… With regards to the first part of this question, the majority of the scholars of Fiqh hold the view that an animal slaughtered by the people of the book will only become lawful if they cut the required number of vessels using a sharp object.”

[4] Regenstein JM, Chaudry MM, Regenstein CE. The Kosher and Halal Food Laws. Compr Rev Food Sci Food Saf. 2003 Jul;2(3):111-127. doi: 10.1111/j.1541-4337.2003.tb00018.x. PMID: 33451233.

“With respect to kosher, or “kashrus,” supervision, slaughtering is the only time a blessing is said—and it is said before commencing slaughter. The slaughterman asks forgiveness for taking a life. The blessing is not said over each animal, an issue we will return to when discussing the Muslim concept of the meat of the “People of the Book.””

“Orthodox Jewish slaughterers say a blessing at the beginning of a slaughter session, but do not pronounce the name of God at the actual time of slaying of each animal.”

Hossain MAM, Uddin SMK, Sultana S, Wahab YA, Sagadevan S, Johan MR, Ali ME. Authentication of Halal and Kosher meat and meat products: Analytical approaches, current progresses and future prospects. Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr. 2022;62(2):285-310. doi: 10.1080/10408398.2020.1814691. Epub 2020 Sep 11. PMID: 32914638.

“In Shechita, a blessing to God is pronounced before starting a long period of slaughtering and if there is not a long interruption, it is thought that this blessing covers all the animals slaughtered in that period. There is a standard form for blessing which is followed before most Jewish rituals. In Judaism it is usually followed that for rituals having an associated blessing, if one fails to recite the blessing, the ritual is still valid; similarly, even if the shochet omits the blessing before Shechita, the slaughter is considered valid and the meat is Kosher.”

[5] Regenstein JM, Chaudry MM, Regenstein CE. The Kosher and Halal Food Laws. Compr Rev Food Sci Food Saf. 2003 Jul;2(3):111-127. doi: 10.1111/j.1541-4337.2003.tb00018.x. PMID: 33451233.

“In addition, as discussed elsewhere in this paper, dairy and pareve kosher products may contain alcohol (for example, in flavors) and some more lenient kosher supervisions as defined above will permit products that contain animal-based ingredients that may also be unacceptable to the halal-observing consumer.”