Is it permissible for me to continue to use this fatburner?

This post has 1,389 views.


I am a fatburner user. It is recently that I realized that this fatburner uses a gelatin based capsule. As I ask around, I become more confused, some people would say that is haram, some people would say it is halaal. It is a medication that helps to burn fat with the help of exercise. And I found some article regarding if this gelatin go through a complete metamorphosis, it would be halaal. How should I know whether it goes for a complete metamorphosis? Is it permissible for me to continue to use this fatburner?


Muhtaram / Muhtaramah

In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāh wa-barakātuh.

Capsules made from gelatin of animals not slaughtered according to Shariah Laws of Zabiha, is prohibited if metamorphosis (Tabdeel e Mahiyat-complete change) did not take place.

A leeway for medication containing haram ingredients could be granted only if it is prescribed by a physician and there is no adequate alternative to such haram medication.

Therefore if the fat burners in the gelatin capsule are prescribed by your physician and there is no alternative to it, you will be excused. We are not in a position to comment on whether metamorphosis has taken place in the gelatin in question. That requires inspection of the manufacturing procedure of the capsule.

And Allah knows best
Darul Iftaa

Madrasah Inaa’miyya

· The Sharée ruling herein given is specifically based on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.

· The Darul Ifta bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer. The Darul Ifta being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.

· This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of the Darul Ifta.